Thursday, September 15, 2011

Forget the 2012 election ... here are the results of the 2011 APME election

by Mary Rochelle

Hollis R. Towns, the now-former APME president, spoke before announcing the new APME president.

"I want to thank each of you for allowing me to serve. I tried to do my very best as president of this organization and I think we did a pretty good job, said Towns. "It was a team effort --  a great effort."

"This is a symbolic changing of the gavel," said Towns, as he announced Bob Heisse as the new APME president.

Bob Heisse proceeded to introduce his fellow incoming board of director members.

They are as follows:

Incoming Board of Director members

President: Bob Heisse of the Centre Daily Times
Vice President: Brad Dennison of GateHouse  Media Inc.
Secretary: Debra Adams Simmons of The Plain Dealer
Journalism Today: Alan D. Miller of The Columbus Dispatch

Michael Days of the Philadelphia Inquirer
Kurt Franck of The Blade, Toledo, Ohio
Laura Kessel of the News-Herald Willoughby, Ohio
Aminda Marques Gonzalez of the Miami Herald
Martin G. Reynolds of The Miami Herald
Jan Touney of the Quad City Times, Davenport, Iowa

Small newspapers:
Bill Church of the Salem (Ore.) Statesman-Journal

Joe Hight of The Oklahoman, Oklahoma City

Jim Farley of WTOP-FM, Washington, D.C.

No comments:

Post a Comment